This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Eventual 1990 IndyCar champion Al Unser Jr. won the inaugural Texaco/Havoline Grand Prix of Denver, returning the favor from when Havoline driver Michael Andretti won the Detroit round sponsored by Unser’s primary backer Valvoline. It was the fifth of six wins on the season for “Little Al,” including the third in a four-race win streak that proved instrumental in helping him to secure his first IndyCar title for Galles-Kraco Racing.

Danny Sullivan placed second for Team Penske, while Unser’s teammate Bobby Rahal would run third. Wally Dallenbach Jr., best known for his sports car and NASCAR accomplishments, scored the only finish of his four-race IndyCar career by placing in the points in 11th place.